Federation of Social Workers Announces Honorees for the 14th Annual Human Service Awards Luncheon

The Federation of Social Workers (FSW) is pleased to announce the honorees for the 2018 Human Service Worker of the Year Awards. The awards will be presented at a luncheon on Friday, November 2nd at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center from 11:30-1:30 and is open to the public.

Hilda Rosario Escher and James Norman will receive Human Service Worker Lifetime Achievement Awards. Escher will be leaving her position as the President and CEO of the Ibero-American Action League at the end of this year. She had previously served as Ibero's Director of Day Care Services, Director of Foster Care Services and Director of Developmental Disability Services. Escher's professional accomplishments also include: growing the division for developmental disabilities from a \$350,000 budget to \$7 million, launching the First Upstate 24hr Latino Radio Station, and increasing scholarship opportunities for high school students from 8 to 86.

Norman retired as CEO of Action for A Better Community in February of this year, after serving 25 years in that position. During his tenure and under his leadership, ABC greatly expanded and improved the programs and services it offers to the Rochester community. He remains actively involved as a volunteer with several local organizations.

Other human service contributors being recognized at the event:

- Johanna Lockemeyer, who works at Monroe Community Hospital, will receive the Human Service Worker of the Year Award for the Public Sector.
- Veronica Black Turner, of Children Awaiting Parents, will receive the Human Service Worker of the Year Award for the Private Sector.
- John Prewasnicak will be honored with the John L. Seebach Volunteer of the Year Award, for his involvement with the Special Olympics.
- **Outreach Community Center** will be recognized as the Community Non-Profit Organization of the Year.
- Maria Fisher will be honored with the Courage Award.
- ESL Federal Credit Union will receive the Corporate Human Service Contributor of the Year Award.
- Alicia & Josh Dougherty and their children will be honored as the Human Service Family of the Year.
- Maeve Reed will receive the Next Generation Contributor Award, which honors human service efforts by someone age 18 or younger.
- Katie Barone, who works in Monroe County Child Protective Services, will receive the Bertina Forde Rising Star Award. This award is given for exceptional contributions in the Public Sector for individuals with less than two years of experience.

More information about the event can be found at **fsw-union.org**.



Dougherty Family



Hilda Rosario Escher



James Norman



Maeve Reed

John Prewasnicak